Humanism & Light

A set of texts written by renowned masons who offer you affordable, clear and impactful writing on a set of subjects often treated in the Lodge. The aim here is to work to develop the spirit of the Enlightenment and propose a perspective of progress in the 21st century, to share texts and reflections to build a humanism and ethics for today and tomorrow.
How can we envisage a unifying humanism and a new era of Enlightenment?

Every month, discover an article from Humanism & Light

The aim of the authors speaking on “Humanism and Enlightenment” is to work towards an awareness of universal values, common to all men and capable of bringing them together. “Humanism and Enlightenment” therefore aims to disseminate reflections on civic morality, capable of constituting today's humanist thought, open to the future and to the universal; and in this spirit the texts presented here strive to shed light on the societal issues posed by our time and for the future, at national, European and global levels.
Respect for absolute freedom of conscience, excluding all dogmatism in matters of metaphysical conceptions, the foundation of secularism in society, is the basic principle common to all the authors speaking on this site.

It should be noted that absolute freedom of conscience leaves everyone the right to cultivate their own metaphysical references, to practice a religion of their choice or to practice none, that it recognizes the freedom to believe in God and in the immortality of the soul, as well as the right to deny the existence of God and to claim that the soul deteriorates at the same time as the body to die out with death... In other words, every human being has the right to be an atheist or agnostic, as much as to have and practice a religion.

Respect for absolute freedom of conscience therefore leaves everyone the choice of their metaphysical conceptions. But in return, it excludes intolerance, it obliges everyone to recognize this freedom in others and consequently to never seek to impose their own conceptions of things and life, nor the symbols which characterize them.

This principle also leads to the acceptance of the debate on the different ways of conceiving answers to the major metaphysical questions, without ever making it a personal question; the debate must in no way call into question the individual and his freedom, it can only focus on philosophical, cultural or other arguments, likely to explain or justify the different metaphysical conceptions confronted.

With the principle of secularism accepted, how can we envisage a unifying humanism and a new era of Enlightenment for the 21st century?

The Enlightenment of Islam by Kalife Michel

THE “ENLIGHTENMENT” OF THE FIRST CENTURIES OF ISLAM

Historians of the Middle Ages recognize that it was in Arabic that the most advanced science in the world was expressed from the 9th century to the 13th century. And Arab scholars were the first to publish books with paper sheets to replace papyrus scrolls. This technological advance contributed to accelerating the circulation of knowledge in the Abbasid empire which shone through its philosophical, religious and scientific reflection...

ETHICS OF CARE AND HUMANISM by Marie-France M

What do we mean by “ethics of care”? What are the problems? How do they awaken a sense of the Humanist ideal?
PRESENTATION AND GENESIS OF THE “ETHICS OF CARE”
Its origins: where does it come from?
It comes to us from Reagan's America, in the 1980s, when the Welfare State in the aftermath of the Second World War was being dismantled. This tear is for the benefit of a financial capitalism supposed to regulate itself. It is part of a general current of ideas, a return to “human value” in a world where everything becomes a commodity, and in which certain activities linked to the human condition are minimized.

Archeology of utopia (Philosophy-history) by Maixent LEQUAIN

Odysseus arrives in the land of the Phaeacians. He falls asleep under an olive tree, a tree which reveals to him the protective presence of Athena. At the same time, the goddess intervenes, in a dream, with Nausicaa, the king's daughter. Nausicaa then goes to the banks of the river where Ulysses is... This meeting of Ulysses and Nausicaa is legendary and it undoubtedly constitutes a treasure of the heritage of humanity.
A utopia is generally defined as a literary artifice consisting of describing an ideal society in an imaginary geography, most often within the framework of a travel story, as is the case here with this episode of the Odyssey. This happy country "on which the Gods seem to have shed their pollen" is therefore the country of the Phaeacians, the final stage before returning to Ithaca, where Ulysses comes to wash up, after leaving the island of the nymph Calypso.

The fundamentals of humanism (Claude Delbos)

To reflect on the future of humanism, I propose, under the title “The Fundamentals of Humanism” to try to clarify the concept.
Reading the Grand Robert we learn that the word humanist in 1539 designated a scholar with knowledge of Greek and Latin languages and literature.
Subsequently he described the scholars of the Renaissance, such as Lefèvre d'Étaples, Guillaume Budé or Érasme, who dedicated themselves to making known the works and ideas of writers of Antiquity; or even Montaigne, Rabelais and others, already under the influence of this idea from Pic de La Mirandole: “The dignity of the human being is to have received the privilege: “To only be what he becomes and to become what he makes himself.”

EN

Humanisme & Lumère

Un ensemble de texte écrits par des maçons de renom qui vous proposent une écriture abordable, claire et percutante sur un ensemble de sujets souvent traités en Loge. L’objet est ici de travailler à développer l’esprit des Lumières et proposer une perspective de progrès au 21ème siècle, de partager des textes et des réflexions pour construire un humanisme et une éthique d’aujourd’hui et de demain.
Comment envisager un humanisme fédérateur et une nouvelle ère des Lumières ?

Chaque mois, découvre un article d'Humanisme & Lumière

Le but des auteurs s’exprimant sur l« Humanisme et Lumières » est de travailler à une prise de conscience de valeurs universelles, communes à tous les hommes et susceptibles de les rassembler. « Humanisme et Lumières » a donc pour objet la diffusion de réflexions sur une morale civique, susceptible de constituer la pensée humaniste d’aujourd’hui, ouverte sur l’avenir et à l’universel ; et dans cet esprit les textes présentés ici s’efforcent d’éclairer les problématiques sociétales posées par notre époque et pour l’avenir, aux niveaux national, européen et mondial.
Le respect de la liberté absolue de conscience, excluant tout dogmatisme en matière de conceptions métaphysiques, fondement de la laïcité dans la société, est le principe de base commun à tous les auteurs s’exprimant sur ce site.

Il convient de préciser que la liberté absolue de conscience laisse à chacun le droit de cultiver ses propres références métaphysiques, de pratiquer telle religion de son choix ou de n’en pratiquer aucune, qu’elle reconnaît la liberté de croire en Dieu et en l’immortalité de l’âme, aussi bien que le droit de nier l’existence de dieu et de prétendre que l’âme se détériore en même temps que le corps pour s’éteindre avec la mort… Autrement dit tout être humain a le droit d’être athée ou agnostique, autant que d’avoir et de pratiquer une religion.

Le respect de la liberté absolue de conscience laisse donc à chacun le choix de ses conceptions métaphysiques. Mais en contrepartie, il exclut l’intolérance, il oblige chacun à reconnaître cette liberté aux autres et par conséquent à ne jamais chercher à imposer ses propres conceptions des choses et de la vie, ni les symboles qui les caractérisent.

Ce principe conduit aussi à l’acceptation du débat sur les différentes façons de concevoir des réponses aux grandes questions métaphysiques, sans jamais en faire une question personnelle ; le débat ne devant en aucun cas mettre en cause l’individu et sa liberté, il ne peut porter que sur les arguments philosophiques, culturels ou autres, de nature à expliquer ou justifier, les différentes conceptions métaphysiques confrontées.

Le principe de laïcité étant admis, comment envisager pour le 21e siècle un humanisme fédérateur et une nouvelle ère des Lumières ?

Les Lumières de l'Islam par Kalife Michel

LES « LUMIERES » DES PREMIERS SIECLES DE L’ ISLAM

Les historiens du Moyen-âge reconnaissent que c’est en arabe que s’exprima la science la plus avancée du monde du IX°s au XIII°s. Et les savants arabes furent les premiers à éditer des livres avec des feuilles en papier en remplacement des rouleaux de papyrus. Cette avancée technologique contribua à accélérer la circulation du savoir dans le l’empire Abbasside qui brilla par sa réflexion philosophique, religieuse et scientifique …

ÉTHIQUE DU CARE ET HUMANISME par Marie-France M

qu’entend-on par « éthique du « care » ? Quelles en sont les problématiques ? En quoi éveillent-elles un éau regard de  l’idéal Humaniste ?
PRESENTATION ET GENESE DE L »ETHIQUE DU CARE »
Ses origines : d’où nous vient-elle ?
Elle nous vient de l’Amérique de Reagan, des années 1980, alors que s’effectue le démantèlement de l’Etat Providence  des lendemains de la 2ème guerre mondiale. Cette déchirure se fait au profit d’un capitalisme financier censé se réguler lui-même. Elle se situe dans un courant d’idées général, de retour à « la valeur humaine » dans un monde où tout devient marchandise, et, dans lequel certaines activités liées à la condition humaine sont minorées.

Archéologie de l'utopie (Philosophie-histoire) par Maixent LEQUAIN

Ulysse arrive sur la terre des Phéaciens. Il s’endort sous un olivier, arbre qui lui révèle la présence protectrice d’Athéna. Dans le même temps, la déesse intervient, en rêve, auprès de Nausicaa la fille du roi. Nausicaa se rend alors sur les bords du fleuve où se trouve Ulysse …Cette rencontre d’Ulysse et de Nausicaa est légendaire et elle constitue sans doute un trésor du patrimoine de l’humanité.
Une utopie se définit généralement comme un artifice littéraire consistant à décrire une société idéale dans une géographie imaginaire, le plus souvent dans le cadre d’un récit de voyage, comme c’est ici le cas avec cet épisode de l’Odyssée. Ce pays heureux « sur lequel les Dieux semblent avoir versé leur pollen » c’est donc le pays des Phéaciens, ultime étape avant le retour à Ithaque, Où Ulysse vient s’échouer, après avoir quitté l’île de la nymphe Calypso.

Les fondamentaux de l'humanisme ( Claude Delbos)

Pour réfléchir à l’avenir de l’humanisme, je propose, sous le titre « Les Fondamentaux de l’Humanisme » d’essayer de préciser le concept.
À la lecture du Grand Robert on apprend que le mot humaniste désignait en 1539 un lettré ayant une connaissance des langues et des littératures grecque et latine.
Par la suite il a qualifié les lettrés de la Renaissance, comme Lefèvre d’Étaples, Guillaume Budé ou Érasme, qui se consacraient à faire connaître les œuvres et les idées des écrivains de l’Antiquité ; ou encore Montaigne, Rabelais et d’autres, déjà sous l’influence de cette idée de Pic de La Mirandole : « La dignité de l’être humain, c’est d’avoir reçu le privilège : « D’être seulement ce qu’il devient et de devenir ce qu’il se fait ».

FR